Wake me if you like me…

Posted: August 18, 2009 in My other life

I sit in the dark staring at a text message I recently got from you and as the glow from my phone slowly fades off I can’t help but wonder how you’ve been…And I smile shyly the memory of your voice so clear … You see it’s been ten days, three hours and round about thirty seconds since we last spoke and well…I miss you… Am allowed to do that right, besides we are friends right? And friends miss friends right? Ok who am I kidding! I am insanely impatient and my fingers are burning to press the green button coz I have you on speed dial, but I can’t think of a reason lamer than ‘I just called to say hi’ at a quarter to one AM… So I guess it can wait till tomorrow …or maybe never…

So as the morning charily steals into the night I lay in bed compelled to stay awake with questions, blank spaces and the jagged mystery that is you…Never before have I met one so calm and collected yet passionate about life, one so at peace with themselves yet humble and one so full of dreams bigger than themselves…and one so interesting yet so distant…

I chanced upon meeting you when I was familiar with the disappointings of the old and I wanted nothing to do with the new; and as our short messages grew into phone calls I realized there’s nothing quite like a seven-minute conversation, really. You know, the kind that doesn’t have much of a subject, it flows from the weather to my dream of making it big in fashion, from whether or not chicken soup can cure your cold to your favourite genre of music…spontaneity, unplanned delight.

So it is with my thoughts in the still of this night, random and scattered in your direction, with nothing much to base my liking on, other than the fact that your speech is refined…and you type words in full in your text messages…and your introvert laughter lasts only a couple of seconds…and you burble when your nervous…and you apologize even for the slightest forgivable gaffes…and you’re funny…
Forgive me if am being rush but I just want to know what you’re about, what that extra full stop at the end of your text message means, why you always answer your call after the fourth ring and why I am smiling while writing this…

Now that it’s out there that I might feel something for you and…I might want to know you better and…I might slightly hope that there’s a chance you’ll ask me out in the near future…text me if you just want to say hi, call me if you wanna go out for coffee and talk…best of all, wake me if you like me…

Leave a Reply

